Posted by: Laura Pierce | April 13, 2024

Front page of Press Democrat – Section D

Wow! The Press Democrat put my little rug, ‘Golden Gate Sunset’, on the front page of their Sonoma Life section, naming their article ‘Fiber optics’! They snagged it from Sonoma Index-Tribune … https://www.pressdemocrat.com/article/entertainment/rug-hookers-to-display-their-works-at-sonoma-valley-library/

Cover Girls; ‘Golden Gate Sunset’ hooked rug by Laura Pierce and Nancy Winn with hook in hand

A couple of friends dropped off copies, which was so fun! I was planning to put my rug, Golden Gate Sunset, in the rug show at the Sonoma Valley Library in Sonoma, CA, but backed out at the last minute. The photos and essays had already gone to the Library publicity folks, and apparently, they and the news agencies liked my photos! However, if you go to the show, I’m sorry to let you know that this rug is not included. It’s a great show of 29 rugs! Come, check it out!

A few notes about the article: we use scrap material… like old clothing, etc… not ‘scrap metal’ as mentioned. Further on, they mention the Caswell Carpet and my project; Caswell Impressions. I drew 67 patterns and invited other rug hookers to complete them all; I have a small book with photos of all the rugs… https://flyingdoghookery.com/supplies.html


Responses

  1. Great!


Leave a comment

Categories