Posted by: laurawp | February 28, 2017

The Last Caswell Impression to Arrive

Caswell Impression #3 punch hooked by Sara Judith

Caswell Impression #3 punch hooked by Sara Judith

Yes, all of the Caswell Impression blocks have been hooked! It’s been fun to hook ’em and now it’s fun to see them come in with a variety of interpretations. Sara Judith is a Master at punch hooking rugs; using combinations of yarns to create colour magic! I can hardly wait to get this lovely Caswell block in my hands! Sara will hand it off to Brigitta Phy at Puget Sound Rug School in a couple of weeks. Puget Sound is really the jumping off point for my Caswell Impressions project; it was last year while I was preparing to teach at Puget Sound Rug School that I decided to open up the project to other rug hookers. It was the perfect place; an intimate and inclusive rug school. I printed up 40 of the patterns I had created by that time, offered to loan the patterns to participants and asked them to hook it their way! 25 rug hookers did.

Caswell Impression #41 adapted & hooked by Brigitta Phy

Caswell Impression #41 adapted & hooked by Brigitta Phy

Back at home, my friend, Brigitta Phy signed up for a Caswell Impression, got one of the challenging patterns and came up with a great solution. The original block seemed to have sea shells with foliage, but the sea shells looked like little hamburgers!?! Brigitta designed sea shells that we could recognize and hooked this lovely rug. As Brigitta is teaching at Puget Sound Rug School this March, she can bring home the final block from Sara. I wish I was going too; it’s a great time with stimulating classes and interesting activities. Check it out on line at Puget Sound Rug School

Caswell Impression #27 hooked by Michele Wise

Caswell Impression #27 hooked by Michele Wise

Michele loves a challenge; she says, “In a design class I am presently taking there was a challenge to use a graduated dark to light in the motif and the opposite in the background which inspired me to try it out on this pattern. These are not my normal colors and I like to challenge myself so I went with the purples and yellow greens.” These are my colours and I love the way Michele hooked this piece!

Sara Judith and Michele Wise direct the Puget Sound Rug School which a big reason it is so special!  Each year, they invite three great teachers to come and teach a specific class; it makes for a stimulating and creative gathering.

Leave a Reply

Categories

