Posted by: laurawp | September 12, 2016

One more Caswell Impression

Caswell Peahen in progress by Laura Pierce

Caswell Peahen in progress by Laura Pierce

I’m very happy to be hooking one more Caswell Impression! especially the Peahen! One of my students had picked this pattern, but realized she was too busy to get it done. I’m having a lot of fun with the bright colours, even though the Peahen is quite dull compared to the Peacock. It’s our liberty as rug hooking artists, right? You can see a few ink marks in the feather area; I frequently will change a pattern as I hook it. Several of the Caswell Impressions artist have made changes to the patterns and done it their way… and I say ‘Yaye!’

Caswell Impression hooked in velvet by Robyn Schoder

Caswell Impression hooked in velvet by Robyn Schoder

I re-photographed Robyn’s velvet Caswells… in bright sunshine. I never photograph hooked rugs in bright sunshine because it shows each loop, which is distracting in regards to the image of the rug as a whole. Velvet is quite different; it’s luscious and shiny and that was not coming across in a regular photograph. I think this is a better photograph, but some rugs just need to be seen in person.

Caswell Impression hooked by Cathy Kelly

Caswell Impression hooked by Cathy Kelly

Cathy Kelly’s Caswell Impression has some shiny beads in the flower centers; they sparkle a bit in the photograph, but show better in person. I love Cathy’s colour plan; pushing the envelope a bit… yellow gold, yellow green and apricot… analogous I suppose. I am curious how this came about.

Caswell Impression hooked & sewn by Susan Feller

Caswell Impression hooked & sewn by Susan Feller

Susan Feller’s Caswell Impression is quite 3-dimensional! Puffy flowers and free wool leaves rise above the colourful stitched background. These alternative fiber manipulations look like fun! I am tempted to squish the flowers, but resist in an effort to keep each rug in pristine shape.

Caswell Impression hooked and sewn by Martha Lowry

Caswell Impression hooked and sewn by Martha Lowry

Martha Lowry showed her Caswell Impression on Facebook and garnered many, many compliments! It is 3-dimensional too with very wide loops, 2 kinds of ‘Shirring’ and twillies too. The beautiful soft colours and textures are hard to photograph; I held the rug next to my computer monitor to try and get the correct colouring. The wool flannel whipping is seamless and the round corners are stress free.

I have received quite a few Caswell Impressions and will be showing them at Little River Inn Rug Camp at the end of October. Even though the rug camp is full, you are certainly welcome to come by and see the Rug Show. We don’t fill up all the rooms at the Inn, so you can come up for a day and stay the night. www.LittleRiverInn.com

Responses

  1. They are beautiful! I pinned my Imoression on Pinterest and have seen it repinned. How many have you received?

  2. Hi Toni,
    i have received 38 rugs so far… well 32 rugs… I’ve hooked 6 myself.

  3. Oooooo lovely – I love them all. m

    • thanks Malynn… you’ll get to see them soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

