Posted by: laurawp | June 12, 2016

A jaunt to the Cambria Rug Show!

Old Prickly Pear at San Juan Bautista in Central California.

Old Prickly Pear at San Juan Bautista in Central California.

My husband, Kirby, and I decided to take off for a few days road trip and go see friends and the rug show at Cambria Pines Rug Camp. I’ve driven and ridden the trip several times down Hwy 101 to Paso Robles, then out to the coast to Cambria. We generally stop at San Juan Bautista for a picnic; it’s a dusty old California Mission town and something to see! An orchard fenced in with a brick and plaster fence has various fruit trees and includes a couple of old prickly pears. Look but don’t touch!

Big Sur view of cliffs and a bridge.

Big Sur view of cliffs and a bridge.

Since we were not in a hurry and enjoying the road trip; we decided to drive down Hwy 1 and see Big Sur. We were lucky with high fog and beautiful views.

Distant view of a 2 arch bridge in Big Sur.

Distant view of a 2 arch bridge in Big Sur.

It is a beautiful drive with plenty of pull offs so you can join all the other folks taking selfies and photographs. We met a young couple that were watching for whales. I’ll be back when I get a long lens for my camera. we’ll stay at one of the parks or possible a hotel; there were a few along the drive. A few people live up the hills, though not seen from the road; their mailboxes marked their presence.

'Enigma' rug hooked by Peg Richardson, 1992, adapted from newspaper illustration

‘Enigma’ rug hooked by Peg Richardson, 1992, adapted from newspaper illustration

It was great seeing friends and teachers at Cambria. The rug show included several original Elizabeth Black rugs, which Gene Shepherd had for sale. Most of them were quickly sold as soon as the rug show opened. I noticed another rug for sale by Peg Richardson. There was no price, but I was quite struck by the rug and decided to find out. It was a price I could afford and my musical husband thinks I bought it for him.

Rug information tag on the back side of our new rug.

Rug information tag on the back side of our new rug.

Peg Richardson hooked the rug beautifully, in a #3 cut. The tiny outlines in textures add a sparkle and fine graphics. Peg is no longer alive, I found out, but she left us this information on her rug tag. I felt like buying the rug honored her and her fine workmanship. Now I’m looking for a good place to put it.

Responses

  1. Sounds like an awesome road trip! I knew the teacher, Marie Beaubien, through my mom in the Chicago area.

  2. Thank you, Laura! Love your purchase of Peg Richardson’s rug, it’s beautiful! Hope to see you mid October when we are out!

    Toni


Leave a Reply

Categories

