Posted by: laurawp | October 7, 2015

Emma Merrill Webber 1918 – 2015

Emma Webber enjoys a visit with her Pleiades Friends in July 2015

Emma Webber enjoys a visit with her Pleiades Friends in July 2015

Emma’s been coasting down her 90’s for a while… 97 and picking up speed! off to the next adventure! She passed away last Sunday, October 4th, 2015.

2012 Opulence III by and with Emma Webber

2012 Opulence III by and with Emma Webber

Emma loved to sell her rugs… when she sold Opulence II, she had to hook Opulence III. It sold quickly to a collector.

2008 Emma Webber with some of her braided rugs

2008 Emma Webber with some of her braided rugs

A young photographer came by and took some photos of Emma, and after she was done, Emma asked her to shoot a couple more shots with Emma’s camera. ha! nice…!

Emma and I enjoyed many years of rug making together; 19 years of sharing friends, trips and creativity.

I copied one of her rugs recently; it was fun using her colours… more or less. ha! a visit of sorts.

Responses

  1. Laura, I am saddened by your Mom’s passing. She was a great lady, even though I didn’t actually know her, I’m happy to have met and talked to her the few times I was in Petaluma. I’m sure you will miss her very much. I hope she was not sick or suffered at the end, but went peacefully.

    Toni Jette

  2. What wonderful memories you have. So hard to loose a special person in your life!

  3. Clearing we all love Emma and Laura….

  4. I am forever grateful that Emma became part of my life when we lived in CA. I think of her often and will remember her fondly.
    My love and thoughts to you Laura and the rest of the family.

  5. A wonderful tribute to a life well and fully lived!!! You have been such a good, appreciative and faithful daughter! Your friend, Sarah

  6. Hi Laura, These are lovely photos of your mother. She was an outstanding person. I’m glad to have met her. Emma had a good full life. I’m sure that she will be missed. Love from Ruth

  7. We love our rug hooking mothers!! So sad to hear of her passing but what a wonderful tribute to her you have written. Praying for your comfort. Elise Roberts

  8. I am so glad I was able to meet your mother and see some of her beautiful pieces, you both were blessed to have each other in this life. Loving thoughts to you Laura.


Leave a Reply

Categories

