Posted by: laurawp | August 26, 2015

A few new loops…

I knew there was something wrong with Aunt Belle’s outfit… it was light coloured in the black and white photo I had, but it didn’t look elegant. I know my Aunt Belle put on her best outfit for the family photograph; she just would.  Maybe it was light blue…

Latta Folk in Fox Hollow by Laura Pierce

Latta Folk in Fox Hollow by Laura Pierce

This rug has been hanging in my mother’s dining room; her father’s family, after all. Recently, her friends from her Pleiades Art Group came for a Tea Party. Emma was telling them about the family in Fox Hollow, Southeastern Ohio; when I heard a voice say, “why is Belle in her housecoat?” Aah, nothing like a group of artist to ask the hard questions… ha!

Lattas in Fox Hollow hooked by Laura Pierce

Lattas in Fox Hollow hooked by Laura Pierce

I’d been wanting to give Aunt Belle a red dress, but a red velvet skirt would do! And once I added a red velvet skirt to the piece, I had to add red and burgundy around the rest of the piece; red in the flowers on the porch, red in the peonies by the fence, and red cardinals in the trees! Wow! Love that red; it really jazzed everything up! Thank you Pleiades!

Then there was that Mockingbird for Texas… that eye was really bothering me.

Texas Mockingbird by Laura Pierce

Texas Mockingbird by Laura Pierce

It’s an auction item for the 2015 ATHA Biennial in San Antonio, Texas… it needs to look spectacular! I’ve been preparing for my class at Biennial and when I finally wrote out the instructions for hooking the mockingbird… I realized that the eye merely needed a few changes. The mockingbird has a couple of dark streaks beyond her eyes, and the highlight needs to be small and to one side.

Texas Mockingbird with a little more black by Laura Pierce

Texas Mockingbird with a little more black by Laura Pierce

Wow! What a difference a little dark makes!

Yes… rug hooking is the forgivable fiber art… you can change a few loops today… or tomorrow… or a few years from now.

Responses

  1. Nice, Laura!!

  2. As always, lovely work Laura. I do love the red too. Ruth

  3. Good to see a blog from you! That red really jazzed things up. Sometimes we just need a little more time to take a fresh look at our work!

  4. But I couldn’t find the cardinal????

  5. The cardinals are ‘snuck’ in… 2 on the left and 2 on the right… in the trees at the back. they are hard to see in this photo… the one high in the trees on the left is the biggest.
    good to hear from you all.

  6. Nice, Laura. I miss the Cardinals of the East. Have a great trip to Texas and a wonderful class!


Leave a Reply

Categories

