Posted by: laurawp | January 16, 2015

‘Rug Portraits’ from old sepia photographs

'Little Mabel' adapted and hooked by Laura Pierce

‘Little Mabel’ adapted and hooked by Laura Pierce

My great grandmother, Mary Schofield Sloan, was a photographer in the 1800’s. She often photographed her children in made up scenes. This rug is adapted from one of her photographs of my grandmother, Mabel. The sepia photo includes a covered bridge in the background, but I left it out on Elizabeth Black’s advice.

Mabel fishing - Denver 1891 approximately, photographed by Mary Sloan

Mabel fishing – Denver 1891 approximately, photographed by Mary Sloan

This is the photograph that I worked from. I feel very fortunate to have several photographs of Mabel and a few of the rest of the family. I can see now, that I didn’t get that little tilt to her head, but why be fussy… ha! Our medium is chunky! We’re happy with the rug and I imagine that Mary and Mabel would be too.

Sloan Miniatures - hooked by Laura Pierce 2010

Sloan Miniatures – hooked by Laura Pierce 2010

This is another portrait of Mabel, center, with her mother and father. This is a very small rug, and the portraits are miniatures.  There is an earlier post of the process, from December 2010; Sloan Miniatures.

I may hook a few more ‘Rug Portraits’ of Mabel, but there are other portraits to hook first.

I’ll be teaching a Portrait Workshop in Sacramento this coming February 27, 28 and March 1. Let me know if you’d like to join the class.

Responses

  1. These are wonderful Laura!

  2. How delightful Laura and what an inspiration to dig through my own old family photos.


Leave a Reply

Categories

