Posted by: laurawp | November 23, 2014

Fine Fingering Mistletoe project

A couple of weeks ago, at Little River Inn Rug Camp, Tanya Graham taught a mini-class on the ‘Fine Fingering’ technique. A lot to learn in a mini-class, so Tanya designed a little mat with Mistletoe; a small leafed winter motif! Tanya had various swatches available in her kits; naturally, I picked the yellow green one. it is quite bright, so I wasn’t sure of my ‘shading’; it was more like a ‘brighting’. I love a challenge; it always opens new facets of our art and techniques! My leaves seemed a little fat, but Tanya reassured us that once we put in the background, things would even out. I was anxious to fill in that background and decided to pop the design with a dark plaid; green and purple.

Mistletoe with extra canvas hooked by Laura Pierce

Mistletoe with extra canvas hooked by Laura Pierce

After the Mistletoe mat was complete; all that extra backing was staring at me… I knew I couldn’t cut it off and make a tiny mat… I would have to add a border or background. Measuring 2 inches from the edge gave me an idea of what size was possible. I squared it up; 15.5 x 15.5″; a perfect pillow size!

I planned to show my design technique to my Wednesday morning students, but didn’t actually get to it. I wasn’t sure how to lay out blocks to fill with colour…? That’s why I use a crayon to design on rug backing; it’s not permanent and I can ink-in after I get my general idea drawn out.

Mistletoe with hooked lines hooked by Laura Pierce

Mistletoe with hooked lines hooked by Laura Pierce

I hooked the lines with the same green purple plaid and have decided to fill with recycled reds! Red to purple red to compliment the yellow green Mistletoe! I stopped outlining in one corner; did it invite viewers to leave the artwork? Discussing this with my Saturday morning students; I changed the orientation of the lines a bit.

Mistletoe with Red hooked by Laura Pierce

Mistletoe with Red hooked by Laura Pierce

Okay… got started filling in the blocks! the small ones; one for each corner, are filled in with my swatch in the ‘Mock Shading’ technique. The rest of the blocks will be filled in a variety of red. so far… it’s exciting and bright! will it be too bright for the center motif? perhaps I’ll fill the outer blocks with red plaids; which should translate darker.

Responses

  1. Wow!!! That red is making your mistletoe POP! It’s going to be gorgeous! Can’t wait to see the finished pillow!

  2. Looks wonderful as always. Thanks for sharing it with us.

  3. Looking forward to seeing the end result. I’m envisioning a bright spot perfect for dark winters.

  4. Thanks for taking the time to walk us through your design process.

    • thanks for your encouragement, Ladies… I’ve slowed down the teaching engagements, but still want to share the rug art processes. Hopefully, i’ll slow down enough to blog more often. hooked some more red tonight, but didn’t break into the red plaids yet. i am reminded of a rug i saw at Rockaway several years ago… a geometric with red squares in the middle and green squares outside. that’s one important ingredient of Rockaway; the rug show… lots of good rug hooking in that show! i will share my progress and the Rockaway rug soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

