Posted by: laurawp | October 17, 2014

Teaching at Rockaway 2015!

I just got my registration package from Arlene Strutz… director of Friends by the Sea Rug Camp, also known as Rockaway!  It runs March 29 – April 3, 2015.

2 rocks of Rockaway Beach, Oregon at sunset!

2 rocks of Rockaway Beach, Oregon at sunset!

It’s a lovely spot on the Oregon Coast and a fun camp with lots of friends, a fabulous rug show, great teachers, good food and the yearly ATHA Region 11 meeting. I’m a Region 11 member; you bet! it’s a great ATHA Region!

Laura's Rockaway class 2014, minus Linda

Laura’s Rockaway class 2014, minus Linda

Back row from the left; Norman, Nancy, Pat Y, Barbara and Polly.  Front row from the left; Libby, Janice, me, Pat R and Anne.  Now it’s true, I’m known for portraits! I enjoy helping people hook portraits, it’s not so hard! I also enjoy ‘Outline and Fill’ fun designs and Geometrics and Colour! Colour is that attractive, yet sometimes challenging aspect of rug hooking.  I love the  variety of rug hooking; following are some other projects I have taught and enjoyed!

Romance, design by Charco, hooked by Laura Pierce

Romance, design by Charco, hooked by Laura Pierce

I was happy to teach a 1-day class at Western Teachers’ Workshop with this little rug… ‘Outline & Fill’ fun! I love outlining with #5 cut texture or spot, then filling with #8 cut. Random Fill is a great wide cut blending stitch that I used to blend the orange-red swatch in the birds’ tail feathers.

Tribal Kilim design by Jane Flynn hooked by Laura Pierce

Tribal Kilim design by Jane Flynn hooked by Laura Pierce

Here’s another Western Teachers’ Workshop piece I taught. I break the rules by using #8 cut, again. This time I used one of Dorr Mills’ Ombre wools to create a changing burgundy motif; as the wool changes hue, so do my motifs. I hooked straight from one end to the other, changing colours as the design directed. Fun with colour and quick #8 cut results!

Autumn Leaves Chair Rug designed and hooked by Laura Pierce

Autumn Leaves Chair Rug designed and hooked by Laura Pierce

I taught a ‘Design, Dye and Hook an Autumn Leaf Chair Rug’ class for the Hooker Hills Rug Retreat Gang! I love promoting design in rug hooking to my students. In this class, I also shared the dyeing and hooking techniques I learned from Helen Connelly; spooning dye onto various pastels wools and hooking the leaves from the veins out.

3 Padulas designed and hooked by Laura Pierce

3 Padulas designed and hooked by Laura Pierce

Here’s my second Celebration winner, ‘3 Padulas’. I was just having fun and people liked it. I was surprised and delighted to have it selected for Celebrations. I used a bit of this and that for the Padulas and leaves. the background is recycled wool over-dyed with Antique Black. Simply hooked straight from the beauty line to the motif, it was fun and easy!

I hope you’ll join my class at Rockaway and let me assist you with your special rug camp project!

Responses

  1. What is the 2015 date?

  2. thanks Toni… i posted the dates at the top of the blog… i guess 2015 is pretty vague… ha! March 29 – April 3, 2015.

  3. I put you down for my first choice this year at Rockaway…I’m hoping 🙂

    • Hi Michelle,
      thanks for putting my class high on your list! i look forward to it!

  4. Oh my – would love to be able to be there!


Leave a Reply

Categories

