Posted by: laurawp | May 25, 2014

Garden Azeri

Our backyard oasis

Our backyard oasis

At Cambria Pines rug camp, a couple of years ago, I took Eric Sandberg’s class. Since he is very knowledgable about Azeri and Oriental rugs, I decided to design my own Azeri rug based on our little back yard. It’s a spring time version of our backyard with birds and resident wiener dogs.

Mighty hunting wiener dog, Rufus, hunts snails for a snack

Mighty hunting wiener dog, Rufus, hunts snails for a snack

Rufus is our red wiener dog and he enjoys fence-fighting and hunting for snails.

Wiener dog, Milo, wanders around under the bushes

Wiener dog, Milo, wanders around under the bushes

Milo is our black and tan wiener dog and he likes being in charge and is also a fierce fence-fighter.

Garden Azeri rug designed & hooked by Laura Pierce

Garden Azeri rug designed & hooked by Laura Pierce

This is a very big rug for me; not sure I’ll attempt another. I just found it hard to deal with all that rug, while I was hooking it. Otherwise, it is quite an adventure. Originally, I had filled the border with roses, but decided to add the redwood trees on either side. We bought our home new on an unplanted lot. Our daughter brought home a redwood tree in a test tube from school, so I planted it next to the driveway. I wanted it to keep the frost off my windshield in the winter and create shade in the summer. It is taller than our 2-story house now and is home to a couple of crows.

The top and bottom border roses were also abandoned and I threw in the double cross pattern that my mother, Emma Webber, uses so often and so well. Thank you Mom!

Responses

  1. Laura, this is fabulous!! What an amazing design and as always your colors are genius. Hope to see it in person soon.

  2. I love both the story and the art of this happy rug!

  3. An adventure!!! Love it Laura! Nice you included your mom!

  4. Laura, Your rug is wonderful – lots of interesting things and activities to look at. Very well designed – congrat’s !

  5. Yes, this happy rug makes me smile and feel fuzzy all over. The double cross adds much to the design and feel of the rug. I love that you’ve added Emma, Emmy, Rufus, and Milo–where are Will and Kirby? I feel another Azeri in your future 🙂

  6. Laura, I loved seeing your Azeri “in person” at Cambria, and Gene’s photo of it on the Blog really shows it up well. I enjoyed reading and seeing your inspiration for it. It’s full of little treasures and yet comes together in a wonderful design. A wonderful celebration of all of your blessings! Sarah


Leave a Reply

Categories

