Posted by: laurawp | May 14, 2014

Fare-well, it’s been good to know ya…

Fare-well to Elizabeth Black… it was great to have had a class with you!
You told us there were ‘NO RULES’! Many thanks!

Here’s Elizabeth with another one of her big cat rugs! I took this photo while I was watching Gene Shepherd interview Elizabeth for his blog and on-line rug camp. He had invited Cambria campers to attend… if we could keep quiet; there were just a few of us… ha!

Elizabeth Black at Cambria Pines Rug Camp 2010

Elizabeth Black at Cambria Pines Rug Camp 2010

I met Elizabeth in 2002, when our guild brought her in to teach a workshop. It was a popular idea and everyone wanted to attend; too many for the workshop. I asked her if she’d mind doing 2 workshops and offered her a day-trip up the beautiful Sonoma coast on a day in between; happily she agreed.

Elizabeth Black workshop at WCRH in 2002

Elizabeth Black workshop at WCRH in 2002

Some of us were able to take both workshops! I worked on 2 different projects; ‘Little Mabel’ and ‘Thomas’. ‘Little Mabel’ was my first Celebration rug! see my rugs at the tab at the top; ‘Mabel & Elizabeth’

Elizabeth Black workshop at WCRH in 2002

Elizabeth Black workshop at WCRH in 2002

I began teaching the next year and always considered Elizabeth as one of my rug teaching mentors. I am very grateful for that early experience.

In answering 2 readers… Apparently Elizabeth died this past weekend after fighting cancer for several years. I saw it on a facebook post from Laurie Troutman; she saw it posted on Gene Shepherd’s pay blog.

Leave a Reply

Categories

