Posted by: laurawp | April 9, 2014

Making Rug Patterns

Rose Eye Crow design by LwPierce, hooked by Martha Reynolds

Rose Eye Crow design by LwPierce, hooked by Martha Reynolds

I love Martha’s mockingbird with the Texas Yellow Roses… don’t you?
Martha saw my ‘Rose Eye Crow’ rug at the Texas Yellow Rose Event last March and had to have the pattern! Glad to see her rendition!

Rose Eye Crow by Laura Pierce

Rose Eye Crow by Laura Pierce

Here’s my version; a rose eye crow with a human eye… it bothers a friend of mine. She claims I should give the crow it’s naturally beady eye. hmmm… maybe…?

Celtic Crow design by Sequoia hooked by Laura Pierce

Celtic Crow design by Sequoia hooked by Laura Pierce

And here’s another crow… quite graphic and hooked simply. I’ve gotten a couple of orders for the pattern since it was featured in an article from the latest ATHA Ruggers’ Companion. it’s a fun pattern to draw, all those twirlies!

Blue Gypsy Jester by Laura Pierce

Blue Gypsy Jester by Laura Pierce

Another pattern that I’m making a few of; a fun design that I made back before children. Designed for satin applique that I did in those days, hooking it is quicker and easier. I’m using the design in a ‘Creative Stitches’ class at Sauder Village this coming August. With a few orders coming in, I enjoy producing them. In class, we’ll use a few more ‘Creative Stitches’ than in this example.

Responses

  1. I love your designs.

    • Thanks Charlotte!

  2. Hi Laura, Toni Jette here. I am at MD Shores hooking! Have talked to Sarah Province a couple of times. She tells me you are coming to our east coast to do a workshop. Wish I had known!! Would love to see you!! What is the workshop’s project?

    • The Workshop with the Colonial guild is ‘Open’. i imagine there will be several Portrait projects, and possibly some Landscape projects. i’ve just sent out my ‘letter’ to inquire, so i should know more, soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

