Posted by: laurawp | February 14, 2014

Happy Valentines Day – Be Mine!

'Love Birds' designed & hooked by Laura Pierce

‘Love Birds’ designed & hooked by Laura Pierce

A fun rug to hook, ‘Love Birds’ is part of a series of rug designs I developed for a ‘Pennsylvania Dutch & Special Stitches’ class I taught for my home guild; Wine Country Rug Hookers, several years ago.

'Hearts & Tulips' design by Corrine Bridge hooked by Laura Pierce

‘Hearts & Tulips’ design by Corrine Bridge hooked by Laura Pierce

This fun pattern was my first teaching assignment at Western Teachers Workshop! It was lucky for me; they told me to hook it with textures and embellishments. I didn’t want to add buttons or baubles so I played around with different ways to pull the wool. The textures are the background; recycled wool over-dyed with Antique Black. This project sent me down a fun path of ‘Special Stitches’ and Fraktur designs! You can find this pattern on the Honey Bee Hive website.

'Wedding Rug' designed & hooked by Laura Pierce

‘Wedding Rug’ designed & hooked by Laura Pierce

A small rug, a prototype of a small wedding rug. We enjoy watching the backyard birds making their nests together in the spring; ‘oh my darling dear… look at this lovely twig to add to our nest!’ That’s what I based the design on; those morning doves, house finches and towhees that call our tiny backyard, home.

Most of my designs are available in my pattern catalogue; visit my website Flying Dog Hookery!

Leave a Reply

Categories

