Posted by: laurawp | January 27, 2014

Back to Rockaway – Friends by the Sea

Mt. Shasta from Weed, CA. March 2013

Mt. Shasta from Weed, CA. March 2013

I love stopping at the Weed rest stop on Hwy 5! It offers a beautiful view of Mt. Shasta. Not much snow for March, but it had a lot more snow on my return trip, a week later.

2013 Rockaway class - me and my wonderful students

2013 Rockaway class – me and my wonderful students

Another wonderful class at Rockaway: back row from the left; Marlene, Susan B, Susan M, Janet, Nancy, Pat R, Eda Lee.  Front row from the left; Don, Pat Y, Laura, Polly, Anne.  They have us pose in front of a metal landscape of the Twin Rocks that defines Rockaway Beach.  A great bunch of students and their projects; I certainly enjoyed the week!

'Raven' hooked by Barb Powell

‘Raven’ hooked by Barb Powell

I was really struck by this little piece by Barb Powell. The Rug Show is always a treat and stays up for several days. The public is welcome to come and enjoy it as well as all the rug campers.

'Lamb of God' hooked by Don Meidinger

‘Lamb of God’ hooked by Don Meidinger

This year there was a spontaneous tribute to Don Meidinger and his rugs. Don has done several rugs in a Christian theme; I found this one particularly fine. I am glad that Don was in my class and we got to work together this last time at ‘Friends by the Sea’ rug camp at Rockaway. His project was ambitious and interesting, but unfortunately, Don died a a little white later.

'Gypsy' hooked by Peggy Kelly, design by LwPierce

‘Gypsy’ hooked by Peggy Kelly, design by LwPierce

It’s always fun to see someone else’s version of one of my patterns; Peggy gave ‘Gypsy’ a light and fresh colour plan!

Beautiful older rug at Rockaway Rug Show

Beautiful older rug at Rockaway Rug Show

I’m sorry I don’t know the maker of this older rug; but I couldn’t resist sharing it with you. It seems that there is a beautiful old rug every year at Rockaway. There is a heritage of rugs in this area and I’m so glad that they bring these in to inspire us! This one looked like velvet up close and you could practically smell the pine forest!

3 islands called '3 Sisters' in a bay near Garibaldi, OR

3 islands called ‘3 Sisters’ in a bay near Garibaldi, OR

On the way home, I pulled over to snap some photos of the ‘3 Sisters’. I should have walked along the railroad tracks to capture the view from the south; it’s the view you catch on your way to camp… which is right around the corner.

They are still registering students for Rockaway Rug Camp; let me know if you want to join the fun and I’ll send you information. It’s one of those big camps with lots of friendly campers and they also host the ATHA Region 11 annual meeting.

Responses

  1. Beautiful rugs !
    Looks like it was a great time, with lots of talent 😉
    Rose

  2. I hear that at Rockaway Beach , Oregon there are so far about 90 signed up…talk about FRIENDS BY THE SEA !!! I am so anxious to meet them!


Leave a Reply

Categories

