Posted by: laurawp | February 13, 2013

Autumn Leaves on a light background

I thought I’d make a smaller Chair Rug; 14 inch diameter. Then I thought I’d put as many leaves in the design as possible, without overlapping. Almost too tight, but with 1 maple leaf and 5 oak leaves, there’s very little background… and for that; I thought I’d try a light texture.

More Autumn Leaves designed & hooked by Laura Pierce

More Autumn Leaves designed & hooked by Laura Pierce

The Yellow background is yellow green, but it is so light it acts like yellow. Some of the leaves blended too much with the yellow, so I outlined the leaves with natural white texture. seemed to save my yellow background and the leaves! I signed and dated the rug but it’s barely visible.

Many Autumn Leaves by Laura Pierce

Many Autumn Leaves by Laura Pierce

I re-hooked the signature with leftover leaf wool… green. Now I’m reminded that I’d like to put a final ring around the rug using all the leftover leaf colours!

These Chair Rugs are fun to make and I like the idea of making more… but I’m going to get back to my Azeri rug and a few other old projects. I’m going to the Fiber Jam at Little River Inn, next week. We have a few events lined up and lots of free time to do whatever we like!

Responses

  1. Laura, I’m very fond of the light background. The added outlining gives this mat an extra Zinfandel that makes it very appealing. Can’t wait to try my hand at hooking one of these.

    • Darn that auto correct spelling. I meant “zing” NOT “Zinfandel”. Ay chuwawa!

  2. actually… i though that extra Zinfandel had a kinda zing to it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

