Posted by: laurawp | July 25, 2010

‘Poppies Galore’ for Hooker Hill Rug Retreat with Gail Becker

Now i know what i’ll work on at the Rug Retreat! ‘Poppies Galore’ a smaller version of Linda Cookman’s Poppies. I’m not one to hook big rugs; in fact I hook mostly little rugs. i’m not sure i should really take this rug on, but i did reduce the Poppies and the border and it’s only 20 x 30″. i’ll use #8, of course!! I’m looking forward to working with Gail Becker, my teacher at the retreat. both wondering how i was going to hook it, i made a couple of copies to pencil shade… to find my way. Just using a quick cross-hatch method, i am able to chart where i’ll need lights and darks.

Criss-Cross hatching for easy shading

I’m looking forward to using the Random Fill hooking method of blending values.

Dorothy Delaune and her Poppies, March 2010

I dyed wool earlier this year for Dorothy Delaune; one of my students at Texas Yellow Rose Events. She hooked my ‘Giant Poppies’ pattern in #8 cut and was finished by the end of the week! She was able to create so much depth… thanks Dorothy!

Responses

  1. Laura–go for it !! I do love the pattern but it will be a little while before I can get to hook it. Would love to see the finished rug posted. Keep me posted and have fun. Linda C.

  2. I love this! Are you going to do colors like CA poppies?

  3. thanks Linda… i will embark on a BIG rug… ha! big for me, anyway.

    Actually, i had the big red orange poppies in mind… with big knobs in the center and black colouring around the center. The pattern is from a photo of Iceland Poppies… which are many colours. i’m keeping my options open and will discuss the possiblities with my teacher!

  4. I absolutely love this pattern would you be willing to sell a copy or give permission to reproduce it in a rug?

    • Actually, i do sell that pattern. it’s 20×30″ hooked on a 28×38″ piece of linen; $60.00


Leave a Reply

Categories

